The NTFS filesystem defines various ways to link files, i.e. to make a file point to another file or its contents. The object being pointed to is called the target. There are three classes of NTFS links: (a) Hard links, which have files share the same MFT entry (inode), in the same filesystem; (b) Symbolic links, which record the path of another file that the links contents should show and can accept relative paths; and (c) Junction points, which are similar to symlinks but defined only for directories and only accepts local absolute paths

ID: d3f:NTFSLink

Informational References


D3FEND Techniques

Name Description

SPARTA Countermeasures

ID Name Description